‘One Day’ – David Nicholls

Where do I start? I love this book! It is just incredible. Forget the film, forget the hype, just read it. You won’t regret it.

Dex and Em are clearly meant for one another and the reader knows this from the start, unfortunately they don’t. Each chapter represents the same day on a different year. We see where they are when they graduate and follow them as they live, love and have their hearts broken.

Dex and Em are both strong characters and I found myself getting attached to them early in the book. Sometimes you want to shake Dex and say ‘wake up and see what is right in front of you’ but you still love him. He is charismatic, if not arrogant most of the time. I fell in love with him pretty quickly. As for Em, I think we are all Em to a certain extent. She has no confidence in herself, doesn’t know where her life is going and feels trapped.

Whilst the film adaptation starring Anne Hathaway and Jim Sturgess was great, as with most adaptations, it just wasn’t as good as the book. So much has to be cut to make a book into as film, not to mention so much of the narration is lost when it is translated to the big screen. It is a good film, but don’t let it put you off reading the book. There is so much more to the book.

I love the relatable characters, the honesty, the emotion and the sheer brilliance of the writing and the plot. I was in tears at some points reading this book. It is beautifully written, emotional and unique. One of my favourite books of all time. If you haven’t already, please read it. I am sure you won’t regret it. I certainly didn’t.

6 thoughts on “‘One Day’ – David Nicholls

Leave a Reply

