‘The Color Purple’ – Alice Walker

This is one of those books that you will never forget. I first read this as it was a set text for my University degree. I wasn’t overly enthusiastic about reading it; I hadn’t heard of it before. However, I found that once I started reading it, I couldn’t put it down.

The protagonist is Celie, a young girl. She writes letters to God which is how we hear her story. Her father beats her until she is married to a man we know as ‘Mr’. He also beats her. Celie meets Shug, a glamorous singer, whom she looks up to. Shug helps Celie find herself and God. It is a story of hope and finding oneself.

It is so emotional and inspirational. It leaves you wanting to be a better person, or at least that is how I felt when I finished it. I felt like I had learnt something and that I was somehow different after having read this story.

The film adaptation by Steven Spielberg is also incredible. The brilliant cast includes Whoopi Goldberg, Danny Glover and Oprah Winfrey. It is well worth seeing, although I would advise you read the book first. Goldberg does a fantastic job of showing Celie’s naivety, innocence and sadness.

Another of my favourite books. If you haven’t read it, now is the time!

8 thoughts on “‘The Color Purple’ – Alice Walker

Leave a Reply

