‘Dombey & Son’ – Charles Dickens

This book has been staring at me for a while. 925 pages… My first thought was ‘really?’. I will admit to not having read a Dickens novel before, which is surprising considering how much I love the classics. I went on holiday for 2 weeks at the end of September and decided it was the ideal time to tackle this brick of a novel. Whilst it took me a few chapters to get into, I found myself caught up in it and finished it in no time.

Mr. Dombey wants a son to carry on the family business ‘Dombey & Son’. As a result his daughter is neglected, both before and after his son is born. Florence is a strong character who you immediately warm to. There are quite a few twists and turns that you don’t expect and a few great characters such as Mr. Carker who you love to hate and Captain Cuttle who you just love. There is romance, drama, tragedy, comedy and action. You are kept on your toes and often surprised by what happens next. Well written and a good read; it may have been my first Dickens book but it definitely won’t be my last.

Don’t be put off by the size, it is well worth a read. Whilst I was reluctant to begin with, I found that I quite enjoyed reading this. Not sure it is one that I would read again though.

 

One thought on “‘Dombey & Son’ – Charles Dickens

Leave a Reply

