‘The Final Empire’ – Brandon Sanderson

Where to begin. Wow. Just wow. I love this book. A friend recommended it to me just after Christmas and told me to buy the box set. She was so confident that I would love it that she said she would buy it off of me if I didn’t. Of course, that didn’t happen because I fell in love with this book and it is now one of my favourites of all time!

The Final Empire is the first in Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn trilogy. It tells the story of Kelsier, the Survivor of Hathsin, who is hired to start a rebellion against the Final Empire. It also follows Vin, a new recruit, who learns she is a Mistborn and powerful Allomancer like Kelsier. The story is brilliant, it is gripping and once you start you don’t want to stop. You get invested in the characters and root for them and the fall of the Final Empire. The Allomancy is really interesting too and Vin’s training with Kelsier is one (of many) of my favourite bits. This was my first real fantasy read and it has opened a can of worms. I have so many more I want to read now that I have discovered this genre.

There are so many great characters but Vin and Kelsier and my favourite and my ship. I was rooting for them throughout the book. They have such a great relationship. Kelsier teaches Vin how to trust again.

The ending almost killed me. No one warned me how emotional it would make me but I am warning you. The ending is… Just be prepared. This is a must read. I could ramble about it forever but I honestly cannot recommend it enough. My first Brandon Sanderson novel but by no means my last.

3 Comments

  1. I’m working on my first Brandon Sanderson novel, The Way of Kings, and this looks like a good read to pick up once I’ve finished that one. I really like Sanderson’s world building and I believe (from the amount I’ve read from The Way of Kings) that he makes intriguing characters.

    Good review!

    1. Thanks for your comment. 🙂 The Way of Kings is on my to read list. Let me know how you get on with it. I really enjoyed this and a quite a few people who have read a number of his novels have said to me that they enjoyed the Mistborn trilogy the most, so definitely give it a go!

Leave a Reply

