Reading is personal 

I struggled for ages when thinking of starting a book blog. Not because I don’t love reading, obviously I do. I love the feeling you get when you’re sucked into a book and can’t put it down. I love the feeling you get when you finish a really good book and the ending is perfect. I love how you feel when you hear an author you love is releasing another book. There is so much I love about reading. Reading is everything. It’s an escape. 

But reading is also really personal. At least to me it is. Sometimes I love a book so much I can’t stand to think that someone else hated it. Sometimes I worry that people will judge me based on what I read. And sometimes I get sad knowing I will never have enough time to read all the books out there. 

One of my favourite quotes about reading is by John Green in ‘The Fault In Our Stars’.

“Books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like a betrayal.”

Books can feel so personal to you that sometimes the idea of sharing them can feel scary. I felt like this for a long time. Sometimes I still do. But the truth is I love to read. And I love to hear from other people who love books as much as I do. And from authors who write the books I love so much. 

So as scary as this is to me I’m going to keep doing it because life is too short to be scared all the time. And what shouldn’t I write about what I love?

Leave a Reply

